Travelling Book Project UK

Back in about April of last year, there were a few posts roaming about on Tumblr about Travelling Book Projects. The idea of this project is that a book is sent around a group of people, and each person annotates the book as they read it before sending it off to the next person.

I’m a part of the UK Travelling Book Project, which about 14 of UK book bloggers are taking part in. The book that has been chosen is The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern, specifically the white edition.

The Night Circus


The project started in about May and the book landed on my doorstep at the end of December/beginning of January. Admittedly I spent about a quarter of an hour just flicking through the book – the cover is lovely just to look at, but I couldn’t wait to read the comments that had been made by the others who had already read it.


It’s quite an experience reading a book that has comments and highlighting in it from other readers – to see their reactions or what lines they love, and if my experience of reading the book matches theirs. In fact, what I’ve read so far, I’ve greatly enjoyed, even more than when I first read the book (my untainted hardback edition), which I think has been enhanced by the annotations.


Our little group also has another book making its way around the UK, The Book Thief by Markus Zusak, a book I adored the first time I read it, so I’m very much looking forward to reading that one as well, although I have no idea when it’ll make its way to me!


Normally I’m very particular about my books – they have to be kept in perfect condition, so no dog ears, bending the spine too far, bending the covers, writing in the books. Basically, I like to keep my books in an as new condition. Imagine 15 year old me (who was much worse about these things) being told in school that we had to annotate books as part of GCSE English Literature. Because I’m enjoying this so much, I’ve decided to annotate my favourite series – Harry Potter – something I’m rather excited about. And who knows, maybe I’ll send one of them off as part of another Book Travelling Project.

Leave a Reply

