Books I picked up on a whim

Top Ten Tues

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and The Bookish.

This week’s topic is ten books I picked up on a whim.

The Double-Edged Sword – Sarah Silverwood

I was intrigued by the idea of an other London, and a boy (Finmere Tingewick Smith – great name) who was abandoned at the Old Bailey and grows up living two, very much different lives that collide as he tries to discover who he really is. It was an idea that I had not read before, and was a brilliant example of how to write a blurb as I picked it up instantly. I ended up getting both the sequels as soon as they were published, although I regret getting them on my e-reader. They would have looked great as a completed series on my book shelf.

The Hunger Games – Suzanne Collins

I must have been one of the first people to read this series and am immensely glad that it has become so popular because it is frustrating to love a book that no one else that you know has read. I have the original cover (as pictured) which you could switch depending on whether you wanted Katniss or Peeta on the cover, and also included stats on each character. Not long before the film came out, a work mate recommended the book to me, saying it was amazing. It was great to be able to say that I had already read it and we had an in-depth conversation about it when we probably should have been stocking shelves.

I Shall Wear Midnight – Terry Pratchett

I saw a girl about the same age as me reading this one when I was on the train travelling back to my university town. I saw the picture of witches on the cover and bought it when I was next in a bookshop, purely on the basis that I hadn’t read anything with witches in for quite a while. I had discovered while I was reading that it was part of a series, but I was able to make enough sense of it as I went along to be able to enjoy it. After that, I became interested in the other Discworld books, and now I am a fan of the series, although I still need to read about half of the series. And yes, I have read the rest of the Tiffany Aching series, albeit in reverse order.

Stormbreaker – Anthony Horowitz

Purely read this as I wanted to see the film because teenage me liked the look of Alex Rider (played by Alex Pettyfer). I ended up loving both the book and the film, which surprised me as I didn’t really think I would enjoy this type of book, thinking that it was a ‘boys’ book. I ended up devouring the rest of the series, which I bulk bought when on holiday visiting family. Funnily enough, I didn’t see much of my family during that visit. These books have recently been published as a set, and it has the cool effect where the spines match up to say Alex Rider (and may be a picture… I can’t really remember).

Illuminae – Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff

I entered a Twitter giveaway on a whim and ended up winning it. I felt a bit meh about it until I had actually received it and saw the layout inside, bumping it up to the top of my tbr pile. It was one of those books, that after I got past the first 50-100 pages, I didn’t want to put it down. And as strange as it sounds, the physical book has a nice weight to it, it feels good in your hands – I just had to say that. I’m looking forward to the next one coming out, which I think is later this year. This ended up being one of my favourite reads of 2015.

The Book Thief – Markus Zusak

I enjoyed reading the blog Mark Reads and he announced that he would be reading The Book Thief once he had finished his current series, which I think was The Hunger Games. So, I thought, why not, I’ll read along at the same pace, it’ll be fun. It didn’t work out like that as I ended up reading it at a much quicker pace. The view point from which the story is told is a unique one, and it really makes the book stand out. I let my Grandad borrow this book recommending it to him… I never found out what he thought of it, and although my Nan never read it, she really enjoyed the film.

The Accidental Highwayman – Ben Tripp

Full title: The Accidental Highwayman: Being the Tale of Kit Bristol, His Horse Midnight, a Mysterious Princess, and Sundry Magical Persons Besides

Yes, I purely picked up this book based on its title and I have had no regrets over it. It also has that really cool uneven page edge effect. In fact, I would quite like to reread this one again as it was a fun read. I think this was supposed to be the first in a series, but there has been no news of the sequel yet 😦

Ranger’s Apprentice: The Ruins of Gorlan – John Flanagan

I can’t remember what made me buy this one, I think it may have been to get free delivery on Amazon, and it was a recommended product based on past purchases. It took me a long time to read this one as I kept putting it off, but then I stumbled across some really good fanfiction for it, but had no idea who the characters were, or past events that were being referred to, so I ended up reading it so I could read the rest of the author’s fanfiction. I read all 11 books in the series within a couple of weeks. In fact, it had taken me so long to get around to reading the book that the covers had changed. It’s a shame, because I liked the old covers. Thinking about it, over the last 5 years, the covers have changed twice. A bit excessive really.

The Name of the Wind – Patrick Rothfuss

Buying this book was the result of one of my procrastination techniques whilst at university where I would have a nosey on the Waterstones website, looking at books that I probably would end up not buying. I don’t know what caused me to buy this one, but I got a feeling it was because of the nice cover which seems a bit silly considering I bought the e-book version. In the future, I would like to buy the physical copies as they will look good on my shelf. I’m hoping there will be a nice looking box set once the last book has been published… whenever that will be.

The Novice – Taran Matharu

I haven’t read this one… yet. But I will, once I’ve finished The Raven Boys cycle. You know what, I can’t even remember buying it. It must have been one of those I want free delivery purchases that I have a tendency to do.

14 thoughts on “Books I picked up on a whim

  1. Mari says:

    I was probably one of the last people to have read The Hunger Games, lol! I did enjoy the series, though. And I’ve been contemplating actually purchasing the Kingkiller books for a while now, though I’m thinking I’ll wait until the series has ended, ’cause I don’t want them suddenly changing the covers on me.

    Like

  2. thesassygeek says:

    Great list! I loved Illuminae as well and you’re right once you get into it you’re hooked until the end. I have yet to read “The Name of the Wind” but I’m getting there, glad to hear you enjoyed it! 🙂

    Like

    • A Book Junkie says:

      That’s the same for me. I bought it not long after it came out, and still haven’t read it. I think I’d better get a move on since the sequel has been published! Hope you also enjoy when you get to it as well.

      Like

Leave a Reply

