Books I Feel Differently About After Time Has Passed

Top Ten Tues

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by The Broke and The Bookish.

This week’s topic is books I feel differently about after time has passed.

EragonEragon

I absolutely loved this book when I first read it – come on, there were dragons! This was my first high fantasy book that I had read and introduced me to the genre. But since reading more fantasy books, especially those by established authors of the genre, I found out that the Eragon series wasn’t as great as when I had first discovered it. Also, it was Star Wars with dragons. Although it’s not one of my favourite series any more, it still takes pride of place on one of my bookshelves purely because this was the book that was the gateway to the fantasy genre. Plus they look damn good on my shelves… and dragons!

Philosopher's StoneHarry Potter

Now, I wouldn’t say that I was introduced to Harry Potter in the conventional way. I remember watching Newsround reporting on the hype surrounding the release of the third book and thinking that it was a bit over the top to be that excited about a book. I was then given Prisoner of Azkaban for Christmas. I did try to read it, but I had no idea what was going on and gave up when the trio got to Hogwarts. The next Christmas I was given the first two books and then I was hooked. I have been ever since. My love for this series just grows; it is infinite. Every time I read it again, I find more details and I always get reminded of little facts that I’ve forgotten like Dumbledore’s scar above his knee that’s a map of the Tube lines. I think I’m a bigger fan now than when I was when I first read them.

A Darker Shade of Magic

A Darker Shade of MagicWhen I first read this last year, I loved this book. It was one of those that definitely deserved the hype. Then as the year went on, I sort of forgot about it until A Gathering of Shadows was being marketed. I decided to re-read ADSOM before the next book was published because I realised I had forgotten quite a few details. I loved the book even more. On my first read, I felt a bit meh over the character of Rhy, but reading it the second time, I realised why everyone loved him so much, and I was a convert to the Rhy love. It’s one of those books that I look at fondly on my bookshelves and have to refrain myself from re-reading again because I still have a massive pile of books that still need my love and attention. Maybe I have another re-read before A Conjuring of Light is released.

The Night Circus BlackThe Night Circus

I read this one based on a recommendation from a couple of workmates; one who had just started and really liked the prose, while another had just finished it herself and insisted that it should be the next book I read. So I did. I enjoyed it, don’t get me wrong, but I felt that it fell a bit flat, and I think that was due to my workmates hyping it up. Then about a year later a book blogger on Tumblr wanted to set an travelling book project for the UK. I signed up and we all decided on The Night Circus. It took several months for the book to arrive through the letterbox, but I got started within a couple of days. The second time around I enjoyed it so much more. I felt I could appreciate more and I didn’t have that hyped up mindset towards it. I was still surprised by details that I had forgotten, and loved some of the characters much more this time. And as being part of the travelling book project, I was able to read what others had thought of the different parts of the story, as well as being able to add my own, something that I had never done before.

Chaos Walking series

The Knife of Never Letting GoThis is a series that I loved when I first read it. It did take me a little while to get into it, but one I did, I devoured them – thank goodness I had the foresight to buy the sequels so I could move straight onto them! I rarely get emotional over books, even Me Before You didn’t manage to make me cry, but the last dozen pages of the series had me bawling, so much so that I was really glad it was late and I was alone in my room reading the ending. But my problem is that I still love this series, and I would one day like to reread the series, but I’m too scared to in case I don’t love it as much as before, then get to the ending to be like Why on Earth did I get so emotional the last time? So I think I’m just going to leave them on the book shelf looking pretty. On a side note, the quote on the cover is very accurate.

Guards GuardsCity Watch mini-series (Discworld)

The Discworld series is just pure gold. Okay, so there is about forty odd books in the series as a whole, but you can split these up into mini-series that follow a certain character/characters. In a previous post I mentioned that I was introduced to Discworld through one of the Tiffany Aching books, but I didn’t really love the series until, after a few trial and errors with other books, I read the first City Watch book: Guards! Guards! This was another series I just had to devour. Then about a year or so later, I reread the series, and I loved it even more purely because of the character development that happened, especially to the main character, Sam Vimes. I won’t spoil it for anyone, but it was a great experience to reread the series knowing where this character is going to end up. Also with the death of Terry Pratchett, it is a shame that we’re not going to go on new adventures with Vimes, but it makes you appreciate the old adventures even more.

Throne of GlassThrone of Glass series

On Tumblr I feel like this is a bit of a Marmite series: you either love it or you hate it. As for me, I’m a bit meh about it. I did start off really enjoying it, but that dropped off by the forth book (Queen of Shadows). I just didn’t really like the direction in which some of the characters were being taken, especially in the romance side of things as it really changed the dynamic, and in some cases the characters didn’t really act in the way that they would have previously done so, like they had a peronality transplant. I will be buying and reading the last two books in the series, purely because I am interested in how everything will be resolved, and I want to read it first hand, and not have to see posts about it on Tumblr. Who knows, I may regain my previous level of enjoyment for the series.

The Pawn of ProphecyThe Belgariad

This was another high fantasy series that I read when I was first dipping my toes into the genre. A random tidbit, this was a series I always picked up when I went into my local Waterstones (RIP) only to put it back again on the shelf every time. It was only when I won a £50 book voucher from sixth form (for reasons I’m still unsure of to be honest) that I actually bought it. Yet again this was another series I had devoured, then bought the sequel series. Over the next few years I read more and more fantasy novels, and I didn’t like this series as much as every fantasy trope going was stuffed into these series, and it no longer felt very original (despite having being written in the 1980s). It was only when trawlling through some book forum that I found out that the inclusion of all those fantasy tropes was intentional, and then I had a new found respect for David Eddings for doing that. It’s now yet another series that I would like to reread. I seriously have to make my own Philosopher’s Stone.

The Graveyard BookThe Graveyard Book

This was the first Neil Gaiman book that I read and I didn’t really like it. There were some parts that really intrigued me, but when I got to the end, I felt a bit deflated by it. Then a couple of years ago I wanted to read some spooky books for Hallowe’en time, so decided to give this one another go. I think it was another case of lowered expectation as I enjoyed this book much more the second time around, and in some ways it felt like reading it for the first time again as I had forgotten so much of it. Also, I think that because I was a good few years older, I could relate more to the wide range of characters. I’ve also become more fascinated with the topic of death, so I suppose that added to the experience. It has now become a book that I would recommend and one that is proudly displayed on my book shelf.

The Lightning ThiefPercy Jackson

Now for the original Percy Jackson and the Olympians series, my feelings towards it haven’t changed. I still love it, but I have a feeling of nostalgia when I see them sitting on my bookshelf, or when I see another person’s picture of them on their bookshelf. When I first read the series, it was this time six years ago when I was coming to the end of my first year of university. I remember the weather being brilliant, my modules were coming to an end, I had less and less assignments to write, I felt like I knew what I was doing in life, I felt like I was becoming who I should be.In a nutshell, I felt content. And this series just brings back those feelings every time I see it, and I have to smile because so much has changed since then, but it reminds me of a time I felt truly happy and to know that it is possible to feel that way in life.

Leave a Reply

