Beach Reads

Top Ten Tues

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by The Broke and The Bookish.

This week’s topic is: beach reads. Or in other words, books that I would like to read this summer especially since I’ll have six weeks off because of my job.

The Ghost HuntersThe Ghost Hunters

I bought this one a couple of years ago,  as I love the topic of ghosts and Borely Rectory fascinated me when I was younger. But to be perfectly honest, I’m too much of a coward to read this during the dark, so hopefully I won’t freak myself out if I read this one during daylight hours as I am one of those people who can only watch Most Haunted or Ghost Adventures in the daytime (and then remember all the scary parts when I need the toilet in the middle of the night). Saying that I got scared reading Lockwood & Co by Jonathan Stroud, and that’s a children’s book. There’s no telling what I’ll be like with an adult’s ghost story, apart from bloody stupid.

 

The Cursed ChildHarry Potter and The Cursed Child

Reading the Harry Potter books, especially from Order of the Phoenix onwards, reminds me of summer. Those last three release days I remember being hot. I would go town not long after the shops had opened (which was dead on the day Deathly Hallows was released), go get my pre-ordered copy, then go back home and read until I had finished later that day. I am so excited that there is another Harry Potter release in the summer again, albeit a script. The only difference is that I will be waiting for it to be delivered as my town no longer has a decent bookshop. And yes, I will be reading it that same day. Some things never change.

 

Billy and MeBilly and Me

This is a book that I’ve been meaning to read for quite a while, but haven’t gotten around to it. I watch Giovanna’s videos on Youtube and really enjoy them, especially seeing all of her books lined up on the shelf behind her in the room where she normally does her vlogs, which would only remind me that I had not yet picked up one of her books. Last week I found a copy of Billy and Me cheap in The Works and picked it up as it was the only copy there, and if I had left it, I would have never seen it again. I’m hoping that it will be a light fluffy read that will make it perfect for the holiday. I just have to make sure I actually read it though this summer.

 

A Court of Mist and FuryA Court of Mist and Fury

Funnily enough, this is actually my current read, having started it only a couple of days ago. I’ve only gotten through about 100 pages so far and I’m liking it. I can see that there is an improvement on the previous book, and am intrigued as to how the rest of the book is going to pan  out especially I have seen some (non-spoilery) discussions on Tumblr about this book and the previous one. This one is a rather beefy book, and the first of many planned for my summer reading.

 

The Assassins CurseThe Assassin’s Curse

Unlike the previous book mentioned, this is quite a short one, but there is a second book to also keep me occupied, and will provide a bit of respite between the longer books. Now this series features pirates, and what’s better than reading about the nice cool sea on a hot summer’s day? Who I am kidding, I live in Britain, we don’t have hot summer days. However it should distract me from the lack of sun, and I suppose the rain outside will set the mood of the sea. Yet again, this is a book that has long been on the tbr pile but have not gotten around to reading it. Are you starting to see a theme yet?

 

This Savage SongThis Savage Song

This book featured on one of my first Waiting on Wednesdays, and it actually arrived through the letterbox earlier than expected so it’s on my tbr pile looking absolutely lovely. For some reason unknown to me, it has been released earlier in the UK than in the US, but don’t worry, you won’t be getting any spoilers from me! I’ve actually planned out when I’m going to read this, which will be in a couple of weeks when I’m going on a school residential to London. As it’s a paperback it won’t be too heavy, but it’s thick enough that it will last me a few days, including the 3 hour train journey back home. To be honest, I’ve put more thought into my reading material than anything else for this residential!
The NoviceThe Novice

I’ve featured this book on another Top Ten Tuesday, which I said I was going to read straight after I had finished The Raven Cycle… which totally hasn’t happened. I don’t know why I haven’t read this book yet as I was really excited when I bought it, but I will definitely read it after I’ve pulled it out from the bottom of one of many tbr piles. And then after I’ve read it, I’ll probably end up buying the sequel and won’t read that until next summer. Whatever happens, I will definitely read this book during this summer, and having announced this publicly, I will have to read it.

 

Fool's ErrandThe Tawny Man Trilogy

I read The Farseer Trilogy a couple of years ago as part of a year long genre challenge as it was one of the series on my tbr pile that had been sitting there for a stupidly long time. I ended up loving it and bought The Tawny Man Trilogy almost straight after, but true to form, I didn’t read it and it is now gathering dust. Since I have a six week holiday coming up in about eight weeks, I’m going to have plenty of time to read, which will be a good opportunity to get another series off the tbr pile. I’m looking  forward to getting myself reacquainted with the characters and the fantasy realm, although I’ll probably have to go on recaptains or Wikipedia to remind myself of what happened in the previous trilogy.

 

The Wrath and the DawnThe Wrath and the Dawn

I’ll admit it, the cover is one of the main reasons as to why I bought the book. Another reason is that many people have recommended this book on Tumblr. This is another book where the sequel is already out, so it’s a bit of a kick up the backside to actually get reading it. It’s a retelling of A Thousand and One Nights, and I’m always up for a good retelling, plus looking at its Goodreads page and all of the good ratings is making me eager to read it. Plus it has a Middle Eastern setting, so even though I won’t be going abroad during my summer holiday, at least I can pretend I am by absorbing myself in the story.

 

Foxglove SummerFoxglove Summer

I really enjoy the Rivers of London series – I binge read the first three books after picking up the first one on a whim. The series is described as if Harry Potter went into the police force. This description is wrong, but the series is brilliant. Foxglove Summer is the fifth book in the series, and while it has taken me a long time to get around to it, I know that I will be able to slip easily into the world of Magical London. It’s also one of those underrated series, so if you like magic and London as well as diverse characters – what are you waiting for?

2 thoughts on “Beach Reads

  1. Mari says:

    I loved Wrath & the Dawn and was absolutely relieved that I managed to nab reading it just before its second and final installment came out. Currently reading Rose & Dagger and ugh god. So good.

    I am so excited for the Schwabfest in July. Because I am dragging all the Schwab books I have for her author event at my favorite bookstore, haha.

    Like

Leave a Reply

