Camp NaNoWriMo

Bookish Ponderings

 

Not sure if I should class this as a bookish pondering although it is about books, albeit writing them rather than reading them.

 

It is that time of year again, I’ve received the email inviting me to another NaNo event, this time, July’s Camp NaNoWriMo. I love writing, with an aim to eventually have a published, and to help me I participate in various NaNoWriMo events. I have taken part in five NaNo events, two of them being the main NaNo event in November, and the rest being the camps (and that’s including the first camp I participated in where I totally divebombed).

For the unknowing among you, NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month, which is also shortened to NaNo) is an event during November where writers all over the world aim to write 50,000 words in 30 days. It’s great fun and I’ll discuss it more in a blog post nearer the time.

Camp NaNoWriMo is what I would call NaNo’s younger sibling. There’s not as many people particiapting, but the NaNo forums are still very active during this time, and it’s more relaxed.

This probably stems from the fact you can choose your own word target. My previous Camp attempts have had targets of 10,000 words, which was totally doable and apart from my first Camp attempt (where I lacked any motivation and was also ill for about a week), I’ve acheived that target in every Camp. For next month’s Camp, I have opted for a target of 5,000 which is mainly due to my Carpal Tunnel, but partly due to that’s how much I think I need to finish my draft. With the optional target, it’s great for people who want to try out a NaNo event without having to commit to the 50,000 word target, and not feel like a failure when they don’t acheive it.

For November’s NaNo, it is preferable but not complusory to start a brand new project, which I have done, but have never finished them duing the event itself. That’s where I find Camp NaNo so useful as there isn’t really any strict rules, so I just carry on with my draft from November, and it really does help with motivating me with finishing it. When I finished my first draft of my book not long after last July’s Camp, it was just an awesome feeling.

Also with Camp NaNoWriMo there’s the added option of being in a cabin. This is where you’re randomly placed with about half a dozen other campers where you can act as a bit of a support group through the event. This is optional, so you can go it alone or alternatively make a private cabin where you invite people that you know. I’ve heard that the random cabins can be a bit hit or miss, so you may have an active cabin, or on the other hand you could have a cabin that’s totally dead. For previous events I have opted not to be in a cabin, purely because I’m a bit like Gollum when it comes to my writing projects, I don’t want to talk about it. It is My Precious. But for this Camp, I think I will opt in for a cabin – hopefully I’ll get a good one!

So, is there anyone else out there participating in Camp NaNoWriMo next month?

(I’ve just remembered that July has one more day in it than April or November – bonus!)

3 thoughts on “Camp NaNoWriMo

  1. Rachel says:

    The Camp sessions are definitely more relaxing. Also, you bring up a good point about there being an extra day. Score!
    Though I’m going on vacation the last week, so I have to try to hit 50k by the 22nd, lol.

    Like

  2. Wenona Gardner says:

    I am writing poetry at 10,000 words for Camp NaNoWriMo and celebrating my birthday July 11. I have a cabin called Cabin Enigma. Do you have a cabin yet? I would like to be NaNo writing buddies with you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

