WoW: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

Waiting On Wednesday

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking the Spine highlighting exciting upcoming releases.

This week’s Waiting on Wednesday features Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J.K.Rowling, Jack Thorne and John Tiffany.

The Cursed ChildI admit that I was going to wait until next month to feature this book, but the first public viewing of the play last night has just got me excited all over again, so couldn’t resist talking about it today.

This is the 8th Harry Potter story, albeit with a grown up Harry, continuing from where the epilogue from Deathly Hallows left off, focusing on Harry and Ginny’s middle child, Albus. When I heard the news of this Harry Potter play, I had very mixed feelings. I was ecstatic that Harry and Co’s adventures were going to be continued, but utterly disappointed as I would be very unlikely to see it as even though I live in the UK, I lived a long way from London and it would be a very pricey excursion – although totally worth it I’m sure.

Fans from all over the world would have felt the same, and it was announced that the script would be published. Now, I don’t mess about when it comes to Harry Potter. I was one of the first to order Half Blood Prince in my local Waterstones as when I saw the posters advertising that it was ready for pre-order, I went straight into the shop and watched in amusement as the staff tried to work out how to do it on their computer system. I was happy to provide a learning experience.

The same pretty much happened with Cursed Child. I had the book pre-ordered within an hour of being announced (having to go online as I no longer have a Waterstones in my town). I have no regrets. The bad thing is that I had done that a few months ago, and still have over a month to wait. Also the test will be if it gets delivered as I paid for release day delivery, but as Vernon Dursley says, there’s no post on Sundays.

Release Date: Sunday 31st July 2016

Synopsis: It was always difficult being Harry Potter and it isn’t much easier now that he is an overworked employee of the Ministry of Magic, a husband, and father of three school-age children.

While Harry grapples with a past that refuses to stay where it belongs, his youngest son Albus must struggle with the weight of a family legacy he never wanted. As past and present fuse ominously, both father and son learn the uncomfortable truth: sometimes darkness comes from unexpected places.

Leave a Reply

