Ten Facts About Me

 

Top Ten Tues

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by The Broke and The Bookish.

This week’s topic is: Ten facts about me.

I’m named after Michaela Strachan

Michaela StrachanMy mum liked the name after seeing the TV presenter. She actually waited until the end titles so she could get the correct spelling for the name. It’s a great name because I haven’t come across many other people who are also called Michaela, and it’s quite interesting to see the various spellings of it. However, I do have the problem of not finding anything with my name on, or it if does, it’s spelt incorrectly. Fun fact: my name had been underlined with a red squiggly line on here.

I’m a big procrastinator

This is something that plagued me during GCSEs, A Levels and my degree. I used to be the total opposite, having to get things done immediately, and then I learnt that it’s fine to relax a bit… then I went to the other extreme. I have started essays a few days before they were due in, and would always curse myself for leaving it so late, never learning from my mistake. I wrote most of my 10,000 word dissertation in a week – I still have no idea how I did that.

I have a hamster called Neil

I love Neil, simple as. He was supposed to be a joint pet between me and my sister, but I ended up taking more ownership over him. I still get her to clean him out every now and again. The poor thing was the last one left – nobody wanted him, the poor thing. He did look a bit scruffy though. We named him after Neil from The Inbetweeners because he’s a bit dopey, but has turned into a really friendly, inquisitive hamster, who can be a bit of an escape artist!

I work in a Primary School

I feel lucky to say that I love my job. I say that while I’m currently off work ill – something that I probably caught off one of the children! I love that I can go into work and not dread it. The staff I work with are great, and so are the children when they’re not misbehaving! But I enjoy making a difference, even if it is a small one.

Harry_Potter_and_the_Deathly_HallowsI read Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows in 6 hours

Bought the book about 10am on release day, started reading at 11am, by tea time I had finished… then reread it because I wasn’t quite ready to let go. I had to promise my friends that I wouldn’t give away any spoilers! It was a very bittersweet moment when I finished the book, and I do sort of regret reading it so quickly. But if I’m perfectly honest, I will probably end up reading The Cursed Child really quickly, so some things will never change!

©ITV Plc

I absolutely love Thunderbirds

It’s a newish obsession of mine, but whether it’s the 60’s original series, the 2004 movie, or the new series, I absolutely love it. It was something I had watched when the original series had its rerun during the 90s – not that I remembered much of it apart from Thunderbird 2’s launch sequence. The movie is my guilty pleasure, and I rediscovered Thunderbirds when the new series was aired last year. I may have spent a lot of my Easter holiday reading a lot of fanfiction, feeling utterly blessed that there’s a lot of well written fics in the fandom. Not gonna lie, Thunderbirds Are Go series 1 was the only reason I got up before 9am on a Saturday morning – can’t wait for series 2!

Last month I flew in a plane for the first time in my life

I had gotten to grand age of 25 and had never flown in a plane – something that a lot of people couldn’t comprehend, because according to them, you can go on really cheap holidays abroad and I had no excuse. My family quite simply couldn’t afford this cheap holidays, and instead had a yearly short trip in this country. I volunteered to go on the London residential trip (I still don’t know if this was a stupid decision, but I’ve already volunteered to go next year) and then the teacher that organised the trip decided that we would travel to London by plane. Long story short, I loved it, even if I was a bit apprehensive when I saw the plane had propellers. Although I didn’t go much on the view – too many clouds – but that’s British weather for you!

Ravenclaw NewMy Hogwarts house is Ravenclaw

I got myself resorted when Pottermore relaunched the site (I was previously a Gryffindor) just purely out of curiosity. I was surprised at first, feeling like I had betrayed my old house, but then when I actually thought about it, I realised that it definitely the house that suits me the most. Although if Hogwarts was actually real, I probably would never get into the common room.

My dream is to be a published author

Ever since I realised that writing books is an actual job, and once I had progressed onto more exciting books (I’m sorry but the Biff and Chip books did get boring after a while), I wanted to publish my own. I’ve always enjoyed writing, I was extremely proud of my piece of writing for KS2 SATs, but I did fall out of love of it when I was 14, thanks to a teacher who ridiculed my coursework in front of the class – keep in mind that it was a very rough first draft which we had no time to plan for. After that I feel out of love with it until I got to University where during my second year I had a module that included creative writing. I fell back in love and have come up with many ideas since then. I now have a completed manuscript that has had one round of edits, and I’ve very nearly finished a second manuscript. 14 year old me would never have imagined that!

NaNoWriMo Winner Badge 15I love NaNoWriMo

I found out about NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) in 2012, but at that time it was already November and I was trying to write 3 essays and a dissertation, so that was not a good time. I forgot about it the year after that, and then stumbled across it again in 2014. It was the perfect time as I had gotten an idea for a novel and I was in a job where I had quite a bit of spare time. I finished NaNo with about 60% of a manuscript; characters and a story I loved; a bit boost to my self esteem and was a winner in my first attempt. I did the July Camp, then 2015 NaNo (won again), as well as this year’s camps. There’s a few months to go, but I’m looking forward to doing this year’s NaNo, I just need to further pad out my idea.

There’s my top ten for this week – now I’d better get back to my Camp NaNo project!

Leave a Reply

