Post NaNoWriMo 2016

nanowrimo_2016_webbanner_winner

I’ve only gone and done it!

This was my third year of entering NaNoWriMo, and having won it the previous two years, I’d been hoping to make this year a hat trick. Yes, I managed to do it, validating my win on 27th November. I still kept writing and updating my word count for the rest of November and my final total came in at just over 55k words – better than last year but not as good as my first year.

This year was a bit of a bittersweet moment for me as the first two years I wrote about the same characters, writing what was intended to be a stand alone novel, only to realise that it needed a sequel. So, it was a bit of a moment for me when I started writing on 1st November to be writing about different characters, but I soon fell in love with them too, excited to write about their next exploits. Although, it was a bit of challenge writing with a bigger cast of main characters.

nano-2016-stats

As you can see from the lovely graph that the NaNoWriMo site provides, my progress was pretty steady, spiking when I wanted to push for a milestone. I always made a conscience effort to stay ahead of target, which I was glad of as there were a couple of days where it was a struggle to hit even 500 words, as well as the fact I went away for the weekend for my Mum’s birthday at the end of the month (although I did manage to squeeze in some writing then).

My only problem now is that I don’t want to stop writing – I’ve forced myself to take a break from writing my novel today. While I have written 55k, I am very much aware of the fact that my novel is no where near finished. Looking at my plan, I’m on chapter 19 out of a predicted 39, so that’s about half way. I don’t want to lose the momentum that I’ve built up for this novel, but there’s a relief that there isn’t so much urgency to write not having to hit a target.

Because, for me, the great thing about NaNoWriMo reminds me that despite all of the urgency, I really do enjoy writing, and it gives me a good kick up the backside to get that novel in my head out on paper… well, computer screen. I’m a really competitive person, so I am always determined to hit that 50k target, but no doubt there will be one year that I won’t. Although for me, really the true prize is getting the words finally out of my head into something more tangible, something that could (hopefully) be one day published.

So, did you do NaNoWriMo this year? How did you do?

2 thoughts on “Post NaNoWriMo 2016

Leave a Reply

