End of Year Survey – 2016 Edition

2016-end-of-year-book-survey

Jamie at The Perpetual Page-Turner is hosting an end of year bookish survey, so I thought this will be a fantastic opportunity to look back at the books that I have read this year. So here goes…

reading-stats-2016

Number Of Books You Read: 58
Number of Re-Reads: 7
Genre You Read The Most From: Young Adult

best-in-books-2016

A Gathering of Shadows1. Best Book You Read In 2016?

A Gathering of Shadows by V.E.Schwab

2. Book You Were Excited About & Thought You Were Going To Love More But Didn’t?

Passenger by Alexandra Bracken.

Don’t get me wrong, I enjoyed it, but it took a while for me to get into.

3. Most surprising (in a good way or bad way) book you read?  

The Novice by Taran Matharu.

I didn’t think I would enjoy it as much as I did – I ended up ordering the sequel before I had finished the first! The third book has also been pre-ordered…

 4. Book You “Pushed” The Most People To Read (And They Did)?

I don’t push books upon people, but I managed to convince my mum to read Billy and Me by Giovanna Fletcher which she enjoyed.

 5. Best series you started in 2016? Best Sequel of 2016? Best Series Ender Nevernight Newof 2016?

Best series started: Nevernight by Jay Kristoff and I also loved The Novice by Taran Matharu.

Best sequel: (it’s a tie between) A Gathering of Shadows by V.E.Schwab; Gemina by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff.

Best series ender: Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo.

 6. Favourite new author you discovered in 2016?

Giovanna Fletcher – she’s not exactly a new author, but she’s new to me!

7. Best book from a genre you don’t typically read/was out of your comfort zone?

An Astronaut’s Guide to Life on Earth by Chris Hadfield. I don’t normally read non-fiction or autobiographies by I was really interested by Hadfield’s experiences in becoming and being an astronaut.

 8. Most action-packed/thrilling/unputdownable book of the year?

D4rk Inside by Jeyn Roberts – I had to force myself to go bed, I just needed to know what was going to happen next!

 On the Other Side9. Book You Read In 2016 That You Are Most Likely To Re-Read Next Year?

Probably The Shades of Magic series by V.E.Schwab in preparation for the final book, but other than that, I don’t make it a habit to re-read books.

10. Favourite cover of a book you read in 2016?

On The Other Side by Carrie Hope Fletcher.

The more you read the book, the more you understand what the illustrations represent on the front. I love it when that happens with book covers!

11. Most memorable character of 2016?

All of The Dregs from Six of Crows/Crooked Kingdom.

 12. Most beautifully written book read in 2016?

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern. I would also like to give a shout out to Gemina by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff, because while I wouldn’t say it’s beautifully written, just the inside design is so well thought out and designed for what happens in the book – that just adds to the readaing experience.

13. Most Thought-Provoking/ Life-Changing Book of 2016?

The Five People You Meet in Heaven – Mitch Albom.

 The Novice14. Book you can’t believe you waited UNTIL 2016 to finally read? 

The Novice by Taran Matharu was one that had been on my TBR pile since it had been published and have only just gotten around to reading. Although the good thing was that I didn’t have to wait too long to read the sequel, just the time it took to be delivered. Bad news is that I have to wait to May to read book three.

 15. Favourite Passage/Quote From A Book You Read In 2016?

“The world will be saved and remade by the dreamers.” – Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas

“I am haunted by humans.” – The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

16.Shortest & Longest Book You Read In 2016?

Shortest: Christmas with Billy and Me by Giovanna Fletcher (54 pages)

Longest: Winter by Marissa Meyer (832 pages)

 17. Book That Shocked You The Most

A Gathering of Shadows by V.E.Schwab, purely because of THAT ending. February is too long to wait for the next book.

Also: The Cursed Child, because now I look back, it’s quite bizarre.

18. OTP OF THE YEAR (you will go down with this ship!)

Rhysand and Feyre from A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas – ended up loving this ship more than I thought I would. Does Queenie and Jacob from Fantastic Beasts count? Technically I did read the script book first…

Foxglove Summer19. Favourite Non-Romantic Relationship Of The Year

I love Kell and Rhy’s brotherly relationship in A Gathering of Shadows. I must admit that I wasn’t a fan of Rhy when I read A Darker Shade of Magic despite him being a fan favourite, but I certainly warmed up to him in AGoS.

20. Favourite Book You Read in 2016 From An Author You’ve Read Previously

Radio Silence by Alice Oseman. I had read her first novel, Solitaire, in 2015 and quite enjoyed it. I wasn’t blown away by it, but it was a very solid debut. Radio Silence I felt was a much stronger book and was one I had to force myself to stop reading so I would get some sleep. I can sincerely say that I look forward to her next novel.

Also, Foxglove Summer by Ben Aaronovitch. I forgot how much I enjoyed the Peter Grant series. It’s urban fantasy and is a wonderful diverse series that sadly tends to get overlooked.

21. Best Book You Read In 2016 That You Read Based SOLELY On A Recommendation From Somebody Else/Peer Pressure:

The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater.

There is a lot of hype about this book on Tumblr and I just wanted to see what all the fuss was about.

A Darker Shade of Magic22. Newest fictional crush from a book you read in 2016?

Not a new crush, but more of a strengthened one: Kell from A Darker Shade of Magic. I also have a bit of a crush on Lila who’s in the same series.

23. Best 2016 debut you read?

I read about two 2016 debuts – I didn’t do very well there! Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton was fab, and I’m not going to hesitate buying the sequel.

24. Best Worldbuilding/Most Vivid Setting You Read This Year?

This post is just me gushing about The Shades of Magic series by V.E.Schwab. I want to live in Red London – simple as.

25. Book That Put A Smile On Your Face/Was The Most FUN To Read?

Fantastic Beasts – it was just wonderful to be able to explore a different part of the wizarding world.

26. Book That Made You Cry Or Nearly Cry in 2016?

The Five People You Meet in Heaven by Mitch Albom – the only book I read this year that achieved this feat.

D4rk Inside27. Hidden Gem Of The Year?

D4rk Inside by Jeyn Roberts. I read it as part of The Travelling Book Project UK which is hosted by Hayley at izzytheheartbrekker on Tumblr, with the book chosen by Kyle at slytherin-bookworm-guy, also on Tumblr.

This would not be a book that I normally pick up if I had come across it in a shop, but I really enjoyed this. If I come across the sequels, I would probably read them.

28. Book That Crushed Your Soul?

The Five People You Meet in Heaven by Mitch Albom, as well as The Book Thief by Markus Zusak.

29. Most Unique Book You Read In 2016?

Gemina by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff, purely because I love the experience of reading these books and how the action of the novel is set out in different mediums. It really does feel like you’re going through this case file of what had happened. So far, it’s been a pleasure reading this series.

30. Book That Made You The Most Mad (doesn’t necessarily mean you didn’t like it)?

The Cursed Child – and that was before I read it! I had paid out for same day delivery (Uncle Vernon was wrong since I did get post on Sunday!) as was I unsure whether I would be able to get into town that day, plus pre-orders were half price, but I waited all day for the book. It was so frustrating as it was about lunch time when I found spoilers online, and it was book bloggers who should really know better. Seriously, couldn’t they have put it off for 24 hours at least? The book turned up at 6:15pm – I had waited in all day for it, missing out on a family day out and it arrived when I was having tea. I was a grumpy bunny that day.

looking-ahead-books-2017

1. One Book You Didn’t Get To In 2016 But Will Be Your Number 1 Priority in 2017?

The Queen of the Tearling

It’s been on my TBR pile since it was published – 2017 will be the year I finally read it!

gilded-cage2. Book You Are Most Anticipating For 2017 (non-debut)?

A Conjuring of Light by V.E.Schwab.

I pre-ordered it from Waterstones as soon as I could, which I think was back in October. Excited is an understatement.

3. 2017 Debut You Are Most Anticipating?

Gilded Cage by Vic James. I’ve seen a lot of good things about this one on Twitter so fingers crossed it lives up to the hype.

 4. Series Ending/A Sequel You Are Most Anticipating in 2017?

A Conjuring of Light. This answer really shouldn’t have been a surprise by now. Also, Illuminae 3, at least I’m pretty sure it’s a trilogy.

5. One Thing You Hope To Accomplish Or Do In Your Reading/Blogging Life In 2017?

Write more reviews – I’m rather lax at that. I’m aiming for at least one a month.

6. A 2017 Release You’ve Already Read & Recommend To Everyone:

Haven’t read any – I’m not a big enough blogger to get arcs 😦

Leave a Reply

