WoW: The Song Rising

waiting-on-wednesday

Okay, so I know that this one was published yesterday, but my copy hasn’t arrived yet. In fact, it hasn’t even been dispatched yet and I pre-ordered it back in October!

the-song-risingThis series isn’t one of my favourites, but I did enjoy the first two books enough to be interested in what the third had to offer. Admittedly, I find these books a bit of a slog to get through, but I really like the idea behind it with the dystopian world. I also find that once I get halfway through the story, it’s easy reading through the second half and redeems the book. There’s also the little problem where I need to find out what happens next as the ending of The Mime Order was climatic and I would like to see how the characters deal with that. The Song Rising also has less pages than the previous book, so it may not feel like so much of a slog to get through, which is a bit of a plus.

I’ve also followed Samantha Shannon’s writing journey for quite a while, back when I was still at university which was a good few years ago now, so in a way I feel like I should support her by buying and reading her books.

 

Synopsis:

Following a bloody battle against foes on every side, Paige Mahoney has risen to the dangerous position of Underqueen, ruling over London’s criminal population.

But, having turned her back on Jaxon Hall and with vengeful enemies still at large, the task of stabilizing the fractured underworld has never seemed so challenging.

Little does Paige know that her reign may be cut short by the introduction of Senshield, a deadly technology that spells doom for the clairvoyant community and the world as they know it . . .

 

Published 7th March 2017

 

Leave a Reply

