My Spring TBR

 

Last month, I decided to have a re-jig of my room, buying new furniture for it, including a tall book shelf. It was quite a mammoth task, especially since I had piles of books around my room, including about three waist high piles on the floor. Some of these had been read while others were waiting to be read. I had a good old sort through, donating books to charity shops that I either wasn’t going to read again or no longer had any interest in reading, which actually slimmed down my TBR piles by quite a bit.

On the plus side, my room looks fab with just a little bit of sorting out left. Problem is, I still have a lot of books to read. So my spring TBR is going to be focused on getting those unread books (finally) read. Feel free to comment on any of these books and which ones I should make a priority. So without further ado, here’s my list:

***

 

Trick

I’m cheating a little with this one since I’m currently reading this, although I’m only Trickabout 10% of the way through. This was a book that I stumbled across on Tumblr and has had great reviews. Also, the book is self published, and as far as I can remember, I haven’t read a self-published book before, so thought I would give it a go!

Synopsis:

There is a rule amongst his kind: A jester doesn’t lie.

In the kingdom of Whimtany, Poet is renowned. He’s young and pretty, a lover of men and women. He performs for the court, kisses like a scoundrel, and mocks with a silver tongue.

Yet allow him this: It’s only the most cunning, most manipulative soul who can play the fool. For Poet guards a secret. One the Crown would shackle him for. One that he’ll risk everything to protect.

Alas, it will take more than clever words to deceive Princess Briar. Convinced that he’s juggling lies as well as verse, this righteous nuisance of a girl is determined to expose him.

But not all falsehoods are fiendish. Poet’s secret is delicate, binding the jester to the princess in an unlikely alliance . . . and kindling a breathless attraction, as alluring as it is forbidden.

***

Truthwitch

I’ve had this book on my shelf since it first came out early last year – in fact its sequel has already been published. There was quite a bit of hype on Twitter and it’s something that Truthwitchsounds right up my street, and I think that the hype has put me off from reading it, so I can disassociate the book from it and be able to read it with lowered expectations. I have been disappointed many times before and want to avoid it in the future.

Synopsis:

In a continent on the edge of war, two witches hold its fate in their hands.

Young witches Safiya and Iseult have a habit of finding trouble. After clashing with a powerful Guildmaster and his ruthless Bloodwitch bodyguard, the friends are forced to flee their home.

Safi must avoid capture at all costs as she’s a rare Truthwitch, able to discern truth from lies. Many would kill for her magic, so Safi must keep it hidden – lest she be used in the struggle between empires. And Iseult’s true powers are hidden even from herself.

In a chance encounter at Court, Safi meets Prince Merik and makes him a reluctant ally. However, his help may not slow down the Bloodwitch now hot on the girls’ heels. All Safi and Iseult want is their freedom, but danger lies ahead. With war coming, treaties breaking and a magical contagion sweeping the land, the friends will have to fight emperors and mercenaries alike. For some will stop at nothing to get their hands on a Truthwitch.

***

The Handmaid’s Tale

So this book was published before I was born, and I seem to be a bit late to the party of this The Handmaids Taleone. My uncle recommended this book to me several years ago, but it didn’t intrigue me back then. Now with the trailer released for the upcoming television series, it’s come back onto my radar again, and I’m now interested in reading it. I’m a big believer that if you don’t connect with a book, you may need to put off reading it until you are – I’ve had that for a few books. And thinking about the current events in the world, I think this book is more important than ever.

Synopsis:

Offred is a Handmaid in the Republic of Gilead. She has only one function: to breed. If she deviates, she will, like dissenters, be hanged at the wall or sent out to die slowly of radiation sickness. But even a repressive state cannot obliterate desire – neither Offred’s nor that of the two men on which her future hangs.

***

Fool’s Errand

This is the sequel to the Farseer Trilogy, a trilogy that I absolutely loved and was eager to Fool's Errandread the next part of Fitz’s story, but there was the drawback of getting the books first. By the time I did get my hands on them, I wasn’t in the mood for reading thick fantasy books with small writing, so I put it off. Three years later, I really want to read them this year and get back into the world that Hobb has created. If I remember correctly, this was on my summer TBR list last year – oops!

Synopsis:

For fifteen years FitzChivalry Farseer has lived in self-imposed exile, assumed to be dead by almost all who once cared about him. But now, into his isolated life, visitors begin to arrive: Fitz’s mentor from his assassin days; a hedge-witch who foresees the return of a long-lost love; and the Fool, the former White Prophet, who beckons Fitz to fulfill his destiny.

Then comes the summons he cannot ignore. Prince Dutiful, the young heir to the Farseer throne, has vanished. Fitz, possessed of magical skills both royal and profane, is the only one who can retrieve him in time for his betrothal ceremony, thus sparing the Six Duchies profound political embarrassment . . . or worse. But even Fitz does not suspect the web of treachery that awaits him—or how his loyalties will be tested to the breaking point.

***

Falling Kingdoms

I’m a sucker for fantasy. This is the genre that I will keep coming back to time and again. Falling KingdomsThis was a book that I judged by the cover – I needed to read it. I think I bought it not long after it came out – book two wasn’t published yet – and now book five is soon to be published, if not published already, so I really need to get a move on and read it!

Synopsis:

In the three kingdoms of Mytica, magic has long been forgotten. And while hard-won peace has reigned for centuries, a deadly unrest now simmers below the surface.

As the rulers of each kingdom grapple for power, the lives of their subjects are brutally transformed… and four key players, royals and rebels alike, find their fates forever intertwined. Cleo, Jonas, Lucia, and Magnus are caught in a dizzying world of treacherous betrayals, shocking murders, secret alliances, and even unforeseen love.

The only outcome that’s certain is that kingdoms will fall. Who will emerge triumphant when all they know has collapsed?

It’s the eve of war…. Choose your side.

Princess: Raised in pampered luxury, Cleo must now embark on a rough and treacherous journey into enemy territory in search of magic long thought extinct.

Rebel: Jonas, enraged at injustice, lashes out against the forces of oppression that have kept his country cruelly impoverished. To his shock, he finds himself the leader of a people’s revolution centuries in the making.

Sorceress: Lucia, adopted at birth into the royal family, discovers the truth about her past—and the supernatural legacy she is destined to wield.

Heir: Bred for aggression and trained to conquer, firstborn son Magnus begins to realize that the heart can be more lethal than the sword….

***

Caraval

Here’s a book that has been published fairly recently, and one that has been very much caravalhyped on Twitter, although from what I can gather, it deserves the hype. I was delighted to get this one from a Fairyloot box, a UK based book subscription box that I can recommend if you can spare the money. This is a book that I’m excited to read, but unless I do it soon, it’ll end up being one of those that sits on my shelf, neglected for years.

Synopsis:

Remember, it’s only a game…

Scarlett Dragna has never left the tiny island where she and her sister, Tella, live with their powerful, and cruel, father. Now Scarlett’s father has arranged a marriage for her, and Scarlett thinks her dreams of seeing Caraval—the faraway, once-a-year performance where the audience participates in the show—are over.

But this year, Scarlett’s long-dreamt-of invitation finally arrives. With the help of a mysterious sailor, Tella whisks Scarlett away to the show. Only, as soon as they arrive, Tella is kidnapped by Caraval’s mastermind organizer, Legend. It turns out that this season’s Caraval revolves around Tella, and whoever finds her first is the winner.

Scarlett has been told that everything that happens during Caraval is only an elaborate performance. Nevertheless she becomes enmeshed in a game of love, heartbreak, and magic. And whether Caraval is real or not, Scarlett must find Tella before the five nights of the game are over or a dangerous domino effect of consequences will be set off, and her beloved sister will disappear forever.

Welcome, welcome to Caraval…beware of getting swept too far away.

***

The Sleeping Prince

The sequel to The Sin Eater’s Daughter, this is a book that has been sitting on my shelf for the-sleeping-princeseveral months. The last book in the trilogy was released not so long ago, so I need to read this one before deciding whether I want to read the final book. I remember not being that enchanted with the first book, but I was in a bit of a slump at the time so I thought I would give this one a chance. Plus the book bloggers I follow on Twitter enjoyed this book, and I trust their opinion.

Synopsis:

Ever since her brother Lief disappeared, Errin’s life has gone from bad to worse. Not only must she care for her sick mother, she has to scrape together rent money by selling illegal herbal cures. But none of that compares to the threat of the vengeful Sleeping Prince whom the Queen just awoke from his enchanted sleep.

When her village is evacuated as part of the war against the Sleeping Prince, Errin is left desperate and homeless. The only person she can turn to is the mysterious Silas, a young man who buys deadly poisons from Errin, but won’t reveal why he needs them. Silas promises to help her, but when he vanishes, Errin must journey across a kingdom on the brink of war to seek another way to save her mother and herself. But what she finds shatters everything she believed about her world, and with the Sleeping Prince drawing nearer, Errin must make a heartbreaking choice that could affect the whole kingdom.

***

Grave Mercy

Another book that feels like it’s been on my shelf since forever! I remember this book Grave Mercybeing described as assassin nuns, and I was like give me that book now… but I had to wait for shipping and then the book became forgotten about. I was also on a bit of an assassin kick at the time, so that may have influenced the buying of the book, only for that kick to wear off.

Synopsis:

Why be the sheep, when you can be the wolf?

Seventeen-year-old Ismae escapes from the brutality of an arranged marriage into the sanctuary of the convent of St. Mortain, where the sisters still serve the gods of old. Here she learns that the god of Death Himself has blessed her with dangerous gifts—and a violent destiny. If she chooses to stay at the convent, she will be trained as an assassin and serve as a handmaiden to Death. To claim her new life, she must destroy the lives of others.

Ismae’s most important assignment takes her straight into the high court of Brittany—where she finds herself woefully under prepared—not only for the deadly games of intrigue and treason, but for the impossible choices she must make. For how can she deliver Death’s vengeance upon a target who, against her will, has stolen her heart?

***

The Book of Lost Things

Another book I purely bought purely because of its cover. Come on, it’s a beautiful cover. The Book of Lost ThingsAlso, I like fairy tale like stories, and this is another book that has been recommended on Tumblr. I’m also in the mood for fairy tale re-tellings, so I expect I’ll read this one very soon.

Synopsis:

High in his attic bedroom, twelve-year-old David mourns the death of his mother, with only the books on his shelf for company. But those books have begun to whisper to him in the darkness. Angry and alone, he takes refuge in his imagination and soon finds that reality and fantasy have begun to meld. While his family falls apart around him, David is violently propelled into a world that is a strange reflection of his own — populated by heroes and monsters and ruled by a faded king who keeps his secrets in a mysterious book, The Book of Lost Things.

***

One

This book was one I came across whilst watching the documentary: The School That Got Teens Reading. I was intrigued by the book, having not read it, and wanted to know whyone this book in particular was chosen for the teens to read. For more of my thoughts on the documentary, see the previous link.

Synopsis:

Grace and Tippi. Tippi and Grace. Two sisters. Two hearts. Two dreams. Two lives. But one body.

Grace and Tippi are conjoined twins, joined at the waist, defying the odds of survival for sixteen years. They share everything, and they are everything to each other. They would never imagine being apart. For them, that would be the real tragedy.

But something is happening to them. Something they hoped would never happen. And Grace doesn’t want to admit it. Not even to Tippi.

How long can they hide from the truth—how long before they must face the most impossible choice of their lives?

***

The White Princess

I really enjoyed the BBC series The White Queen, as well as the book it was based on, and The White PrincessI’ve recently found out that there is going to be a series based on the sequel, albeit with a different television company. I really enjoy finding out about history, and although you have to take historical fiction with a pinch of salt, you can still get a basic gist of events which you can look into further at a later date.

Synopsis:

The haunting story of the mother of the Tudors, Elizabeth of York, wife to Henry VII. Beautiful eldest daughter of Edward IV and Elizabeth Woodville – the White Queen – the young princess Elizabeth faces a conflict of loyalties between the red rose and the white. Forced into marriage with Henry VII, she must reconcile her slowly growing love for him with her loyalty to the House of York, and choose between her mother’s rebellion and her husband’s tyranny. Then she has to meet the Pretender, whose claim denies the House of Tudor itself.

***

Leave a Reply

