Top Ten Of The Most Unique Books I’ve Read

top-ten-tues

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by The Broke and The Bookish.

This week’s topic is: Top Ten Of The Most Unique Books I’ve Read.

***

The Lies of Locke Lamora – Scott Lynch

The story flits between the past and the present, and while at first I found it confusing, it was a great device to give you much needed information about Locke’s past without the dreaded info-dump, not having to read in a chronological order, which probably would have been quite boring.

***

The Name of the Wind – Patrick Rothfuss

Once I started this book, I couldn’t put it down. In fact, I recommended it to a work mate within 20 pages of the start. What makes it unique is that it’s a story within a story – Kvothe, in the guise of an innkeeper named Kote, is telling the story of his famous exploits of his youth. The only disadvantage is the long wait for the third and final book in the series. I’ve been waiting years for it, and I expect I’ll be waiting years for it to be released.

***

The Night Circus – Erin Morgenstern

This book is just so atmospheric. Right from the beginning, you are absorbed into the circus – a place I wish was real. Then you have the added aspect of the story itself, an intriguing magical battle with the added bonus of lovable characters. Plus, the actual book is gorgeous no matter if it’s hardback or paperback and worthy of its space on any bookshelf.

***

The Book Thief – Markus Zusak

It’s narrated by Death which I had never come across in a story before. Not told as a straight story, the narrative is interjected by little anecdotes from Death, and while some spoilers are revealed through this narration, it makes the events that happen even more tragic as you know what is going to happen.

***

One – Sarah Crossan

A book that I finished a couple of days ago (and I read it in one day I was that engrossed). Not only is it about conjoined twins, which I’ve never come across in any other book, but it’s written in free-verse, something which may have put me off the book if I had known this before buying it. This book was heartbreaking and beautiful, and I don’t think it would have had the same impact if it had been written any other way.

***

Trick – Natalia Jaster

This was the first self-published book that I’ve read, and this book makes me eager to find more. The writing was quite lyrical and whimsical as well as including LGBTA+ and other representation. I also liked the ending where it wasn’t perfect, acknowledging that like it life, things are so neatly wrapped up with the hard work continuing.

***

The Five People You Meet In Heaven – Mitch Albom

Another book I read in one day. It’s another death based story, but focuses on what happens to you after death through the character of Eddie. It makes you think about who would be the five people you greet in the afterlife, as well as how your actions while you’re alive can affect others, no matter how small.

***

The Knife of Never Letting Go – Patrick Ness

The idea of The Noise – the phenomena where you can hear other people’s thoughts was just plain brilliant and well done in this book. The narration was unique in that it was written how the character of Todd would have spoken, and while it was quite jarring to read something that was grammatically incorrect, it just worked for this story. The whole series is just brilliant – one of my favourites I’ve ever read. Warning – you will need a lot of tissues!

***

Vicious – V.E.Schwab

A story about super-humans and morally grey characters on all sides. I enjoyed this book far more than I thought I would. I like the origins for the super abilities and how the story jumped between past and present. The characters were wonderfully complex, with no one wholly good, although I found myself rooting for one character. I can’t wait for the sequel!

***

Discworld – Terry Pratchett

This is a series that has 40 odd books, but I would not recommend reading them in order of publication. You can pretty much pick up any book in this series and be able to read it straight off, although you’d be better to read them according to the mini-series – I would recommend to start off with either Guards! Guards!, Mort or Going Postal. This series is a reflection on our real life world, just with a few fantasy elements thrown in. Plus the women in the books are really well written – in fact all of the characters are plain brilliant. This is also another one on my list that features Death, but he is a character I dare you to not fall in love with!

***

More Than This – Patrick Ness

Another book about death – this list makes me seem like I’m obsessed but I promise I’m not! This book raised more questions the more I read it. Honestly, the less you know about this book before reading it, the better. It was quite an experience reading the story as my confusion became unravelled into something clear.

***

Since it is the Easter holiday, it seems as though I’ve forgotten how to count since there are eleven books on this list. So count yourselves lucky that you got a bonus one this week!

3 thoughts on “Top Ten Of The Most Unique Books I’ve Read

Leave a Reply

