Top Ten Things That Will Make Me Instantly Want To Read A Book

Top Ten Tues

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by The Broke and The Bookish.

This week’s topic is: Top Ten Things That Will Make Me Instantly Want To Read A Book.

Slight disclaimer here, just because these things make me instantly want to read a book, doesn’t mean I’ll instantly read it… more like I’ll instantly buy it only for it to be on my tbr pile for ages.

London

There’s just something I love about London – it just has so much history to it. While I’ve only visited it a few times, there’s just so much I haven’t seen and I would love to wander around for a few days discovering the less beaten tracks. It’s just a fascinating place

Magic

I blame Harry Potter for this one. I would love to be able to do magic, think how much easier my life would be! But since I can’t, I do the next best thing and read about it instead!

Fairytale Retelling

I’ve always enjoyed fairytales, often re-reading my Ladybird books when I was younger. I’m a fan of the TV series Once Upon A Time, and can’t resist a Disney film based on a fairytale. Now, there’s quite an abundance of fairytale retellings, much to my delight! And to be honest, it doesn’t have to be a straight forward retelling. As long as it resembles a fairytale like story, I’ll read it!

 

Thieves

Stories about thieves just intrigue me – probably since in books they tend to be quite charming and sassy. It’s also quite thrilling to read about something I would never do myself.

Pirates

Ah, swash buckling on the high seas like in Pirates of the Caribbean – it’s just a shame it’s not really like that. Living by the coast, I’ve been fascinated by the sea, not to mention slightly jealous of those who own a boat, who can just go off sailing. Go back in time a bit or travel to a fantasy land, add some swords into the mix, and you’ve got a story that intrigues me.

Assassins

I’m starting to sense a pattern with the rule breakers here. I went through a phase of reading assassin novels, and I still enjoy them – but not so much back to back! And if there’s female assassins, then even better!

Royalty

If only to see how the other half live – it’s fascinating. I’ve spent many hours during my childhood daydreaming of being a member of royalty… and adulthood as well. It can be historical or fantasy, I’m not too fussed as long as I’m interested in the story!

Space

I have loved space ever since I learnt about it as a child. It was also my strongest topic in science, and I could guarantee that I got the space related questions correct in my Key Stage 2 SATs. Considering its vastness, it’s a minefield for brilliant stories. Plus it brings me a bit nearer to my dream of living in space. Also, I want a story with space pirates – that just sounds brilliant in my mind – can anybody recommend one?

Debut Author

I love discovering fresh voices, and I don’t mind taking a risk if it means I find an author I will auto-buy books for. It’s a great feeling when you buy a book by a newbie author, there’s a special kind of excitement, and I’m sure they appreciate you buying their book as well!

Written by V.E.Schwab

She’s an auto-buy author. I just adore her and she is so open about being an author. The Shades of Magic series is one of my absolute favourites, taking pride of place on my bookshelves. If I ever had the opportunity to meet her, I would be a blabbering mess.

 

 

One thought on “Top Ten Things That Will Make Me Instantly Want To Read A Book

Leave a Reply

