Monthly Wrap-Up: April 2017

Monthly Wrap-Up

I’m rather impressed with myself this month – I managed to read 7 books! This was probably helped by having two weeks off work so I had extra reading time in the morning. I am also 8 books ahead of my Goodreads challenge – the most I’ve ever been ahead I think!

Now for the books:

Ratings:

The Handmaid’s Tale: 3/5

The Beauty and the Beast: 4/5

One: 4/5

The Sleeping Prince: 4/5

The White Princess: 3/5

The Rose and the Mask: 3/5

The Queen of the Tearling: 3 and a half /5

 

The stand out favourite for this month was One by Sarah Crossan. Written in free verse, it was a very quick read (a few hours at most) and was able to tell a thought provoking and heart breaking story. I was also pleasantly surprised by The Sleeping Prince. When I read The Sin-Eater’s Daughter, I wasn’t that impressed, however I think TSP was a much better book and I’m excited to read the final book in the trilogy: The Scarecrow Queen.

 

I also managed to read another self-published author this month, which was a retelling of Beauty and the Beast. I really enjoyed this book, although I may be biased because I adore Beauty and the Beast, but I felt it was let down by the ending. Still, I wouldn’t hesitate to buy the next book in the series which looks to be a Cinderella retelling. Once again, if you can recommend me any self-published authors, just leave me a comment below.

 

This month, I had the added difficulty of a puppy, who we got after the loss of both my dogs, Timmy and Rusty, last month. From past experience, I know that puppies like to chew books, and this is the same with Dotty, my now 10 week old Border Jack. Some of the books this month have lick stains or little bites marks in them, but she’ll learn… eventually. Guess I’m going to have to keep my particularly pretty books out of puppy reach until then.

 

For May, I have a lot of books for pre-order, and that’s just for the first week! I’m expecting about 4 books if I remember correctly, but the way I see it, they’re just birthday presents for myself. May have to get myself another bookshelf though – I’m rapidly running out of space!

Leave a Reply

