TBR Thursday: The Witch of Salt and Storm

TBR Thursday

I have a bit of a TBR problem: my TBR pile is huge. If I stacked all the books up, it would probably be taller than me. So I thought that every Thursday I would feature a book that is on my pile and a reason as to why I got it in the first place. I should have plenty to last me quite a few weeks!

Feel free to join in with your own TBRs!

The Witch of Salt and Storm

Kendall Kulper

The Witch of Salt and StormYou don’t know what you must give up to become a witch.

Avery Roe wants only to claim her birthright as the witch of Prince Island and to make the charms that have kept the island’s sailors safe at sea for generations, but instead she is held prisoner by her mother in a magic-free life of proper manners and respectability.

Avery thinks escape is just a matter of time, but when she has a harrowing nightmare, she can see what it means: She will be killed. She will be murdered. And she’s never been wrong before.

Desperate to change her future, Avery finds a surprising ally in Tane—a tattooed harpoon boy with magic of his own, who moves her in ways she never expected. But as time runs out to unlock her magic and save herself, Avery discovers that becoming a witch requires unimaginable sacrifice.

Avery walks the knife’s edge between choice and destiny in Kendall Kulper’s sweeping debut: the story of one girl’s fight to survive the rising storm of first love and family secrets.

 

Why it’s on my TBR

When this book was published, I’d realised that I hadn’t read a witchy novel for a while and the setting of the book intrigued me as well. I’m pretty sure I got this one as it was on a buy one get one half price offer in store, and I always love to take advantage of offers like that! Also, I really liked the cover for this book and knew it would look good on my shelf.

Leave a Reply

