Monthly Wrap-Up: July 2017

Monthly Wrap-Up

I swear these months are getting shorter.

During July, I read a grand total of four books, which is quite a low number for me considering the year I’ve had so far. However, I’m now ten books ahead of schedule in my Goodreads challenge, so that’s a plus.

Let’s see what books I read:

Ratings:

Numbers ~ Rachel Ward: 2/5 stars

Frost Like Night ~ Sara Raasch: 4/5 stars

The Fate of the Tearling ~ Erika Johansen: 3/5 stars

The Lie Tree ~ Frances Hardinge ~ 3/5 stars

***

Reading wise, it was quite a meh month. I really enjoyed Frost Like Night and thought that to be a solid finale for the trilogy. I’m looking forward to Raasch’s next book, which I believe has a pirate influence.

The Fate of the Tearling had a bit of a wtf ending – it just came out of nowhere, although I liked that it was quite bittersweet. I felt that it raised more questions than it had answers and another book could easily be written based on that ending.

The biggest disappointment for me was Numbers. It had such a good premise but then it wasn’t really used for the rest of the book. I think there may be a sequel, so it may be used more then, but I won’t be picking it up.

July is also the second month for Camp NaNoWriMo. I wasn’t going to do it, but then I had a last minute idea for a fun project based on my WIP, and how could I not do it? I finished it with plenty of days to spare so I went back to fully focusing on my WIP, however I may go back and add to my little fun project some time in the future.

Now I have five weeks off work which means plenty of time to read and work on my WIP.

Can you recommend any books that you read during July?

2 thoughts on “Monthly Wrap-Up: July 2017

Leave a Reply

